1.It was built in 1914 and took its name from Fahwah Road, a village that lay at its western end
2.It was renamed Rue Lafayette in 1918 after an American revolutionary general, Marie – Joseph Paul Yvves Roch Gilbert du Motier Lafayette.
3.During the concession era it resembled today’s Fuxing road – busy and vibrant center of entertainment and various activities.
4.Historical highlights of Fuxing Road
1) Canidrome – a stadium structure, orginally built for a stadium structure originally built for greyhound racing in 1928. It could seat 50,000 spectators.